About us

We are a nonprofit coalition of stakeholders seeking to improve health of New Mexico women and children through best practices in New Mexico hospitals. Our members include New Mexico hospitals, the Department of Health, insurers, NM Hospital Association, March of Dimes, and other community organizations such as Young Women United.

We want to help improve health outcomes! New Mexico has opportunities!

Board of Directors:

Katie Avery, RN, CNP, Maternal Health Manager, NM DOH
Eve Espey, MD MPH, Chairperson, UNM OB-GYN Department
Janis Gonzales, MD, MPH, FAAP, Bureau Chief/Medical Director, Family Health Bureau NM DOH
Jean Howe, MD, Indian Health Service
Ellen Interlandi, RN, MPH, Clinical Consultant, NM Hospital Association
Mark Kassouf, Bureau Chief of Vital Records and Health Statistics, NM DOH
Larry Leeman, MD MPH, UNM Family & Community Medicine
Amy Levi, CNM, PhD, Albers Professor of Midwifery, UNM College of Nursing
Aussy Levi, Senior Manager, Donor Recruitment, United Blood Services
Denita Richards, RN, United Healthcare
Cathy Rocke, MBA, Deputy Director, Public Health Division, NM DOH
Kent Argubright, MD, Perinatal Associates of NM
Linda Siegle, Resources for Change
Brandi Van Pelt-Ramirez, Blue Cross/Blue Shield

Executive Committee Officers

  • Eve Espey

  • Janis Gonzales
    Vice President

  • Amy Levi

  • Linda Siegle

Work Group Chairs

Neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS): Larry Leeman
Improved access to long acting reversible contraception (LARC): Abby Reese
Improved management and reduction of maternal obstetrical hemorrhage: Katie Seligman

Which stakeholders are represented?

The board of directors of our Perinatal Collaborative consists of local representatives, including insurers (i.e., Medicaid), private healthcare personnel and consumers, as well as the following agencies:

  • NMDH_logo



  • IHS_logo